The word chakra comes from the Sanskit ‘cakra’ meaning wheel or circle and is pronounced chuhkruh, the ch sound as in chapel.


There are seven major chakra points in the body starting from the top of the head through to the base of the spine.  These chakras are thought to vitalise the physical body and to be associated with interactions of a physical, emotional and mental nature. 


The function of the chakras is to spin and draw in the Universal Life Force Energy to keep the spiritual, mental, emotional and physical health of the body in balance.


The earliest mention of chakras is in the Upanishads which are part of the Vedas which form the Hindu scriptures.


The basic chakras begin with the crown chakra (sahasrara) which is located at the crown of the head.  This is said to be the master chakra which controls all others


The third eye chakra (ajna) is located in the centre of the forehead and is associated with intuition and ESP. The third eye is often associated with visions, clairvoyance, precognition and out of body experiences


The throat chakra (vishuddha) which as its name implies is located in the throat is for communication and growth.


The heart chakra (anahata) is for devotion, compassion, love and healing


The solar plexus chakra (manipura) is for mental functioning, higher emotion, power, control and freedom to be oneself.


The sacrum chakra (swadhisthana) is situated around the groin area and is for emotion, sexual energy and creativity.


Finally there is the root chakra (muladhara) which is for security, survival and instinct


As can be seen from the diagram each chakra has a different colour.